SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Dat Done Today

Discussion in 'DAT Discussions' started by mantraman1010, Mar 2, 2007.

1. mantraman1010

mantraman1010 Member 7+ Year Member

Jan 17, 2006
    Sweet Texas
    Well it didn't go over too well, I forgot everything I studied in the process of getting a new appointment due to the blackout. I ended up with an 18AA 17TS and 15PAT. I really do not want to take it again, but it looks like I'm gonna have to. I have a 3.8 GPA with about a 3.6 sGPA. Do Texas schools look at GPA or DAT more heavily? Got plenty of shadowing hours about 100 with an general dentist, ortho, endo, and oral surgeon. I've even been in the operating room at MD Anderson and rotated 50+ hours with a reconstructive surgeon and oral surgeon who performed jaw reconstructive surgery for cancer patients. I've volunteered about 60+ hours in the ER and Neurosensory Dept at the Methodist Hospital. I'm apart of three national honor socities on campus and have 30+ hours of general community service. I worked with a oil gas flow company for a couple months and even got to work on some of the offshore gas rigs. That is just my background, so what do you guys think?

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. snapple59

snapple59 New Member 5+ Year Member

Jun 26, 2006
    Raise your DAT AA score to around 19 or 20. You may need to improve your PAT score to 17. If you write a super essay, you should be able to get a few interviews, and apply early as possible like in June or July

4. USCbiograd

USCbiograd 7+ Year Member

If I were you, I would definetly re-take the DAT. Unfortunately, schools tend to weigh DAT scores very heavily and low scores can seriously reduce your chances of being admitted.

5. drteeth

drteeth Junior Member 5+ Year Member

Nov 9, 2005
    South FL