DAT Finito: 7/13

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

theragu

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hellooooo
I just finished my DAT (about 3 hours ago) and was sufficiently happy to post my scores :)

PAT: 26 (99.6%)
QR : 21 (96.4%)
RC : 21 (76.7%)
BIO: 20 (88.0%) :(
GC : 22 (91.8%)
OC : 22 (90.4%)
TS : 21 (91.6%)
AA : 21 (93.4%)

I started studying around the end of May, but I've always had trouble being focused on school/tests during summer, so I didnt get the ball rolling until like mid-June/later end of June.

I always work better under pressure (aka I'm a procrastinator) so the last week before my test I pretty much stayed in my room and studied hardcore most of the day.

I began reading through Campbell's Bio book, and found once i finished that it was too difficult and didn't help as much as I had hoped. Too much information and too time-consuming. So I ended up reading Barron's AP Prep Book (don't ask), and it had a lotttt of good material and was MUCH easier to read and I was able to go through it a few times cover to cover. That helped the most.
BIO: As you can see my bio was the lowest score, which had been happening in my 3 Topscore tests, which worried me because I enjoy bio and had a good background in it. Overall it was random questions that you couldn't really predict would come up. The "Biology Content Specifications" was what I followed up on in Campbell's after reading Barron to make sure I went through everything.

Chemistry: went through Chad's videos; it's a good way to start studying for the chemistries, but you need to do practice practice practice. I used Destroyer, going through the road maps carefully, and it helped a LOT. Make sure to understand every question from the answer in the back.