DAT timeline; SMP vs. Master's vs. DIY Post-Bacc?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

brooklyn99

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I am a recent college graduate with cGPA 3.27, sGPA 3.05, bcpGPA 2.81. Throughout my undergrad, there were many personal and family issues that I had to deal with. It was difficult to envision an end goal/ career and I honestly did not know what I was working towards - my continuous low grades were a reflection of this. It wasn't until the summer right after my junior year, when I worked as a dental assistant during COVID-19, that I found and tapped into my interest in dentistry. I was fortunate enough to be trained on the job - I worked and shadowed at the same time. I have not taken the DAT yet and am hoping to apply in the 2022-2023 cycle if possible. Currently, for my 1st gap year, I'd like to apply for a record-enhancing program, but am unsure which option (SMP vs. Master's vs. DIY Post-bacc) is best/needed based on my stats. How many credits would be needed to boost my GPA so that I don't get screened out by dental schools? If you have any recommended programs, that would be greatly appreciated as well.

As for the DAT, do you suggest that I take it before or after I apply for programs? When is the latest to take the DAT so that I can still submit relatively early in the cycle?

** NOTE:
- I plan to find some shadowing/ volunteering opportunities while attending a program/ studying for DAT
- I've held leadership positions throughout undergrad and have also been involved with diabetes research since 2019

Thank you in advance for taking the time to read through and/or providing feedback!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I'm on my last semester of an SMP so take what I say with a grain of salt. I graduated with a 2.97 uGPA and a 2.58 sGPA, but I'm currently sitting on two interview invites will likely have at least another from SMP linkage.