Dead-set on taking a year off. What should I do?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Punchap

Moderator Emeritus
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm a third year undergraduate and am planning to take a year off before medical school, but I'm a little unsure of what I should do with my year.

I participated in an 11-month AmeriCorps program before undergrad. (loved the real life experience) and am very interested in taking a similar break before I finish my education. I'm not sure what I should do with my year -- I am very interested in public health and community service (esp. international) and am considering doing an MPH (1-yr. option at my school), but am not sure if this is what I want.

I have one concern though...I have accrued substantial debt as an undergraduate and am looking for an option that allows me to defer most (if not all my loans) for my year off in case I am unable to pay on them. Are there volunteer/research programs like this?

Any program/ideas/suggestions? I'm open to all...thanks for your comments in advance. I apologize for the long note.

-Punchap

Members don't see this ad.

Join the Marines, either in the Reserves or active duty (but you will sit out four years if you go active duty).

Do some real "service" and get some real "real life" experience, not self-aggrandizing emotional masturbation like Americorps.

Your student loans are deferred interest free for active duty. I'm also pretty sure the military is still offering some ungodly amount for tution assistance under the MGIB.

If I were you, I'd stay out of the military. Spend that year either pursuing a creative interest you've always wished to pursue, or working in some public service (but fun) field. But I wouldn't join the Reserves (or Active Duty) simply for lack of better ideas.

Members don't see this ad :)
Have you considered becoming a teacher?