Debt free? -- the military way -- air force (hpsp)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

alascari88

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey whats up everyone!

I'm new to SDN so I appologize if I'm typing a novel here:

I am currently a sophmore at Ramapo College (Northern New Jersey) and working as a HYPERBARIC TECH in a medical facility, conducting research there as well through case studies. My GPA is low, I have only a 3.0 and looking to bring it up, I will be taking the MCAT hopefully next year.

I have spoken with a few recruiters regarding the Health Professions Scholarship Program (HPSP) and I had already been informed of all the perks and obligations of the Program, also I understand I won't begin until I am a senior heading off to med-school.

In the mean time, I still in College and hope to be accepted into the HPSP as I begin Med-School. In the future I hope to work with the Air Force, possibly as a physician in the air, as well as in hospitals and eventually specialize.

It would be great if anyone who shares the same interest as me or has some valuable information regarding such a Scholarship to shed some light on this goal of mine...

--How compeditive is the scholarship today and in the next few years??
**(Considering my 3.0 GPA should I look to ARMY HPSP instead??)

--Where can I get more info about Air Force HPSP and applying?
**(for example when should I begin to apply??)

--Is there anyway I can shadow a military physician considering I am a civilian?

--What are some things I can do to better my chances in getting the scholarship?? (possibly joining reserves??)

THANKS, AND HAPPY HOLIDAYS!!

Members don't see this ad.

Hey whats up everyone!

I'm new to SDN so I appologize if I'm typing a novel here: