Decided on PT school... now what?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Cobra585

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
The title of the thread is a little misleading because I'm not totally lost. I've also already started making moves in the right direction, but I'm a bit confused about a few things.

Some background: I earned my Bachelor's in History in 2011 and have been sort of living day to day since then. My GPA there was a 3.38. I recently decided to pursue PT after some first hand experience with it (slightly herniated disc in my lumbar spine). I immediately signed up for a few classes because unfortunately, I don't have any of the required pre-req courses (Bachelor of Arts). I'm in Statistic and Psychology now (both easy A's for me) and I'm going into Human Biology and Child Psychology next semester (Fall 2014). I've also started observations already and just finished three days of inpatient observations at Spaulding Rehabilitation Hospital here in Boston. I also work full-time at an unrelated job.

Some of my concerns: Are community college classes held in far less regard? Financially they'e a more feasible option and I'm certainly not taking them because they're easier (assuming that's even the case). Anyway, has anyone had experience with this? I'm going to be taking at least a couple classes at Harvard Extension School, but would it be advisable to take them all there even though its upwards of 3x more expensive?

What about related experience and letters of recommendation? I have no problem leaving my job that I have right now if I can get something related that will help me later. Like I said, I started observations already and they're great, but those are such short experiences that I can't really get recommendations from them.