Denied disability insurance - now what

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

drlard

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a graduating resident and unfortunately have been denied disability insurance due to being perceived to be too high of risk. My employer will not provide a group policy. I have a history of short-term depression in college but have not had treatment and have not been on meds for 10 years. Also I have seen the doctor in the past for some back pain and other orthopedic injuries but have never required surgery or treatment other than NSAIDs. The underwriter cited these as the reasons for denying me. This is a HUGE deal for me as I am a single dad and if anything ever happens so that I cannot work, my family will be toast. What options do I have other than the obvious of being super frugal and saving as much as I can in an emergency/disability fund? Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

I am a graduating resident and unfortunately have been denied disability insurance due to being perceived to be too high of risk. My employer will not provide a group policy. I have a history of short-term depression in college but have not had treatment and have not been on meds for 10 years. Also I have seen the doctor in the past for some back pain and other orthopedic injuries but have never required surgery or treatment other than NSAIDs. The underwriter cited these as the reasons for denying me. This is a HUGE deal for me as I am a single dad and if anything ever happens so that I cannot work, my family will be toast. What options do I have other than the obvious of being super frugal and saving as much as I can in an emergency/disability fund? Thanks.

WOW! Another good reason to lie to your medical doctor. How did they find out - did you report it on the application or is it part of your MIB file?