SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Dental Hygiene

Discussion in 'Pre-Dental' started by Dr.Jamie, Apr 12, 2007.

1. Dr.Jamie

Dr.Jamie New Member 5+ Year Member

Feb 22, 2006
    This is something I argue about with a family member of mine that is a dentist all the time. I have my degree in biology, decent grades, but nothing spectacular. So I have decided I need to get a Masters degree, which is something I've been advised to do by many people. Plus, it is just something I'd like to have. Anyway, this family member keeps saying that his dentist friends think i need to start into a dental hygiene program and that will make me look better to the Dental Schools. I think this is absurd. Won't upper level science classes, research, and a MS make me look a lot better than that? He says that this one girl he knows is in a Dental Hygiene bachelor's program that she transferred into from a CC, and that she'll be in Dental school before me. Is there any truth to that? Any advice?

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. Drill2Fill

Drill2Fill DentalStudentWannabe 5+ Year Member

Mar 20, 2006
    Tejas
    I think it would be a watse of time and money, to get a degree you will never use.

4. DoctorHappyFeet

DoctorHappyFeet Banned Banned

Mar 3, 2007
    I totally agree. If your goal is dental school, going to school for dental hygiene is a huge waste of time and money - you'll just be studying things that you'll be studying in dental school, only on a lot simpler level. If I were on a dental school admission committee I would not be impressed.

Maybe dental hygiene was a reasonable avenue to get to dental school a while back. But dental school has become a lot more competetive, and they want to see students with upper level science courses like you mentioned. I don't see anything challenging about a dental hygiene program.