Dental license through DPH residency for foreign trained dentists

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jp9

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hii, I'm a foreign-trained dentist. Does DPH residency allow you to practice clinical dentistry in the US? If yes, then which states? Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

Hii, I'm a foreign-trained dentist. Does DPH residency allow you to practice clinical dentistry in the US? If yes, then which states? Thank you.
Ignore the last replies. There are many states that give you a license after a DPH residency, since it is a Accredited specialty. VA, TN, MS, TX, etc all give you a license. But the real issue is that you will NOT be clinically ready and getting a decent position (except maybe a DSO) can prove to be a challenge. I’ve known friends who did a DPH for a license and then a GPR for the experience. Look through the state board rules of the state you are interested in. Best source of information.

Members don't see this ad :)
Ignore the last replies. There are many states that give you a license after a DPH residency, since it is a Accredited specialty. VA, TN, MS, TX, etc all give you a license. But the real issue is that you will NOT be clinically ready and getting a decent position (except maybe a DSO) can prove to be a challenge. I’ve known friends who did a DPH for a license and then a GPR for the experience. Look through the state board rules of the state you are interested in. Best source of information.
Thanks for info.