Dental School and having a family life

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TxDentalGal

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there!

In the last couple days I've kind of been thinking about dental school and the possibilites of starting a family while doing so. Right now I am a pre-dental student doing well in all of my classes and I'm definitely committed to doing the work that's required. I'm 23 now and by the time I finish dental school I'll be close to 30. I have a few concerns that are weighing heavy on my mind. 1) I've always wanted kids, but would it be too hard to have kids during dental school and still be able to do well? I don't want to be too old when I start having kids (especially since my man is 8 years older than me), but if I'm going to put all the work in for dental school I don't want to have kids during that time and hinder myself. 2) I know that dental school is crazy expensive, is the cost of school going to cause a lot of financial stress on my relationship and will it be something that takes me forever to pay back? I know this is what I want to do with my life, I just don't really have anyone who has been through the whole process before to talk to so I'm hoping I can get some good advice here!

Thanks!
Haley :D

Members don't see this ad.