Dental School as a second career?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

scamac01

SDN Donor
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I've applied to dental school and will be starting NYU soon. I was curious to know if there's a large number of people who are doing this after already having another career. I worked as a technical writer for a few years and now Im making the change to dentistry. I had to go back to school for a while before applying so that I could complete my pre-reqs. Has anyone else had to start all over again? I'd just like to see how many people come to the career with other skills/perspectives.

Thanks,

--scamac01

Members don't see this ad.

I worked for five years in Consulting before returning to Dental School. I liked what I was doing, but it wasn't my life's passion. The positives I see with my situation are: having a deeper skill set (knowledge of the buisiness world) and being a little more mature. And the obvious negative of being a little older than my classmates.

I was in IT was a couple of years.

Members don't see this ad :)
I've worked 6 years doing computer programming (The first two years as a coop student). I already knew I did not want to remain in the computer science field even before I received my undergraduate degree. I already had an interest in dentistry, so I began taking pre-requisites while working.

It's only 2 more months before I quit my job, move to a new apartment, and prepare to begin dental school! :D

I was an e-Commerce Marketing Manager for a large retail chain. I wanted a more fulfilling life and always dreamed of being a dentist ... I should have chased the dream the first time through college, but I had a road block. The athletic department for the school I attended HIGHLY recommended not being a pre-med/dentistry major for its athletes. Man did I waste some major time.