Did not match

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ProtonElectron

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a US 4th year student

I am a long time lurker (I usually do not post due to often hostile nature of these threads)

I interviewed at 13 institutions (everyone said this was "too many")

I ranked 9 (everyone said "you will be fine")

I got multiple "we like you" emails from PDs (meaningless)

I did not match

There are very few spots available in the SOAP.

Members don't see this ad.

My condolences. I have a very close friend who also did not match and I cannot imagine the devastation. Now just focus on the SOAP and the best you can.

Also it's not over even after March 15. There are programs who weren't the NRMP at all and can offer positions at any time without being in violation of the NRMP. (But for the applicants who are participating in the NRMP Main Match, the applicants can only do SOAP programs or they will be in violation of rules). So wait until after March 15 to start looking at some of these other places. Unfortunately, I don't think there's a central place to look up these programs. It's probably more likely who you know/connections.

I know a guy from my last year's class who did not SOAP into anything but he found a prelim position later outside of the SOAP. So don't give up hope and talk to as many people as you can. Best of luck!

I am a long time lurker (I usually do not post due to often hostile nature of these threads)

I did not match

why would you interview at 13 but only rank 9? That literally means you believe that trying to SOAP or sit out a year is better than going to one of those other 4....and you said yourself there are very few spots available in SOAP(which makes sense....bad programs are going to do everything they can to rank enough candidates to try to fill, even with weak people)....