Didn't Match Into Psychiatry. Taking a gap year. Looking for advice.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ThanksForTheAdvice

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,
I'm a US Allopathic Med Student. Step 1/2: 224/221. Passed CS on first attempt. Not great grades. Active CV. Did research, volunteered, some leadership, etc. I interviewed at 10 places, and I didn't match. All I've ever wanted to be for the the past 5 years was a psychiatrist, and I didn't want to SOAP into another field. My dean suggested that I delay my graduation and take a gap year, so I'm planning on doing research, taking step 3, doing some in-depth volunteerism, and doing an away rotation or two. Obviously, I'm going to apply to way more places and do some mock interviews.

I contacted the PDs for some of the programs that I didn't match into. Overall, they said there were some tweaks I could've made during interviews but no major red flags. It seems like I'm just unremarkable and didn't apply broadly enough.

Anyway, I would really appreciate some feedback on my plan for this year. If there are some more actionable steps I could take, I would love to hear them. Any advice will help.

Boy, had I known Psychiatry would've been competitive 3 years ago, I would've done a lot of medical school differently, but hindsight is 20/20.

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

You are doing the best you can with the cards you were dealt. I am terrified for the match next year.

Are we now at the point where we have to be "unique" to match psych?
I think it's more like you have to give people a reason to rank you in their top (number of spots x 4ish) other than "no red flags, meh grades, not a complete bum in terms of extracurriculars."

The "unique" thing has always been part of the very top residencies of any specialty but only because that cohort has everything else covered.

Hello,