Different types of experience

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lazlowe1

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I have only posted a couple of times, but I do read the posts, and really appreciate the community here.:)

I am now working as a small animal veterinary assistant, I have previously been receptionist in a clinic, and done a small amount of wildlife rehab work.

I have applied for two new jobs- one is an equine veterinary assistant (which I have no experience with horses), and the other is performing routine testing procedures for a University Laboratory and reporting data to laboratory veterinarian; it is basically within the field of laboratory technology at the vet teaching hospital. (on a sidenote- laboratory work seems to be my favorite when I am assisting)

I was wondering if it is better to stay working as an assistant for the next year or so- or diversifying my experience within vet medicine, and going for one of the other jobs.

Thanks everyone!

Members don't see this ad.

Both of those jobs that you applied to sound like pretty good experiences. On the one hand, you have the equine vet and it's important to get large animal experience. Many, if not most, schools require that you have a certain amount of large animal. And really I think it's the more the better.

On the other hand, the schools really like to see research experience as well.

So, I don't know all of the details of your situation, but it sounds like these two new jobs could be a really good thing. Good luck.

Many, if not most, schools require that you have a certain amount of large animal. And really I think it's the more the better.