Difficulty landing job, need advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pharmkj

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Sorry for the long post but just need some good sound advice....
I graduated in May and have passed the law and NAPLEX. I used to intern at CVS during the school year and my district manager told me they would give me an official offer in March. But once March came around they said that they could only give me a part time contract because the spots were very limited in Rhode Island. He told me after I pass my exam in July to contact him again because sometimes some new graduates back out of their contracts last minute (but no one backed out).

I want to go into retail but all the other company in RI are all full when I called around. But thank god I did score transfer for Connecticut. So having much bad luck in trying to find a position in RI, I recently took the Conn law and passed.

I know there are a few available positions in Connecticut but Im having a hard time getting call back for interviews from other companies like Walgreens, Target, Rite Aid. Like Walgreens and Target told me they wanted someone who worked for the company and with more retail experience. I dont know why im having such a hard time getting a retail position and why these companies are very selective. I mean I worked in retail as an intern for 4 years for CVS.

I didnt really want to go back to CVS to work as a pharmacist, but I guess I shouldnt be picky right now with the slow economy. I tried contacting the CVS recruiter but my emails and voice messages never got returned for a while. I was lucky to get a of the person just recently, but he was a little aloof and said there wasnt anything and acted like this call was a waste of time and said he was stepping out the door and to try back later to check the status on getting call backs from supervisors (of the different districts I guess).