Disability insurance for orthodontists

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mmc12

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,
I was wondering how necessary it was to get disability insurance as an orthodontist? I'm currently a general dentist but will start orthodontics residency next summer. I currently pay 130 a month for I believe 4200 a month coverage. I've talked to some dentists and they said to get another policy for more coverage

Members don't see this ad.

If you owe a lot in student loan and you don’t want to be a burden for your spouse/kids , then you should have disability insurance. As soon as my wife and I paid off our student loans, we cancelled my wife’s policy. I can work to support my wife if she can’t work. I still keep mine. I bought the insurance when I was a 2nd year resident and I currently pay $1700/year for a $5k/month coverage.

Reactions: 1 user
I've had my personal disability policy since day 1 after graduating. I've paid into it too long to give it up. I pay about $1200/month for around $5000/mos coverage. Guardian policy that was recently purchased by Bershire Ins. Co.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
$130/mo for $4200 is cheap. If you are the sole provider, it's probably prudent to buy more. I wound up as a disabled orthodontist unfortunately quite young. If you have questions or doubts, message me.

I've had my personal disability policy since day 1 after graduating. I've paid into it too long to give it up. I pay about $1200/month for around $5000/mos coverage. Guardian policy that was recently purchased by Bershire Ins. Co.[/QUOTe