Disclosure of Information.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DRshooter

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,
I'm a Surgical intern rotating on vascular surgery this month. Something happend while I was on call this friday.
There is an 87 year old female patient with PVD that has foot gangrene. She had her right leg amputated in 2002 and this one in going to go for an amputation soon, her WBC are rising and atempts to revascularize the foot failed....it's dead...
When I rounded in the evening I noticed that the Daughter was a little uncomfortable with me, even though I go out of my way to be extra nice to my patients. I D/C'd her vanko b/c of a rash and gave her some benadryl..everything fine so far. In my rounding in the morning, I did a quick physical and then told the patient that I would discuss my findings with staff(WBC 23, temp rising). The daughter then interferes and says that the patient has her own doctors and that I don't have to discuss anything. The patient, who is not confused and seems pretty sharp to me tells me that she wants to know whats going on and what her treatment options are. Tha daughter interferes in a rude way and doesn't let me answer.
I took her out of the room and told her that the patient has a right to know.
I then got told off by this person and told to mind my own business, etc.
I left, wrote a note about this and told my fellow.
My question is this...should I have told the patient (I didn't)?
Nursing is fed up with the daughter who seems to have some sort of personality disorder. What can be done about this? Will staff stand up for me or be pissed at me for standing up for this nice old lady?

Members don't see this ad.