Discriminated?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

prematch

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated in 1996 which in 2004 was finally succeeded in obtaining my medical diploma from middle east due to selective services and other political reason. I have already passed Step1, 2, 3 by 88 first attempt.
I could not secure a position and even during Scramble when I contacted many programs, I was told that they do not accept more than 5 years post grad into the program.
I was wondering if I should give up medicine, go back to medical school to get a fresh medical diploma?
What options do you suggest?:confused: Any idea is welcome.
Pharmacy, Dentistry, PsyD, DC, OD, or research

Members don't see this ad.

In the US repeating medical school is not an option; it may be in your home country. Most US residencies do not accept applications from anyone more than a couple of years out of medical school UNLESS you have been working as a resident or physician and have up to date test scores. It sounds as if you have not (except have the up to date test scores).

Since you are willing to consider other allied health specialties, why not investigate training for a career as an OD, Pharmacist, etc. All will require returning to school but I'm afraid that for practicing medicine as a physician your options may be limited to:

1) returning to school. If you had not already taken all the USMLE Steps and registered with with ECFMG, you might have gotten away with lying and saying you hadn't been to medical school and starting over...either here or abroad. But the situation for repeating medical school may be different in your home country.