Discussion Thread: 20 Questions with QofQuimica

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

aphistis

Moderator Emeritus
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Article text:

QofQuimica is currently a second-year allopathic medical student. After college, she went to graduate school and earned her M.S. in medicinal chemistry. She then worked as a lab tech and in a doctor's office before returning to school to earn her PhD in pharmaceutical chemistry. In August 2004, Q took the MCAT and scored a 43S. She began giving MCAT advice on SDN when she joined as a member in October 2004. Q joined the SDN staff in June 2005 as an advisor for the MCAT Study Questions subforum and later became MCAT forum moderator. She now oversees all of the SDN premedical forums. Recently, SDN spoke with Q to get her input on preparing for and taking the MCAT.

1. What did you do to prepare for the MCAT?

I was still in graduate school when I started studying for the MCAT, and I was also working for Kaplan as an MCAT instructor. I used Kaplan's online prep course, mainly because it was available to me as an instructor. I was able to teach for Kaplan while I studied for the MCAT because I had taken the MCAT once before while in college. I received a 34P on my first attempt. I did all of the homework assignments for physics and most of the biology ones too. I didn't do the chemistry or organic assignments since I was teaching chemistry and organic at my university. I also took the five proctored full length practice tests along with my MCAT class. It was a pretty crazy time; I was still working full time in the lab and teaching 3-4 nights per week. During the week, I was able to get in studying time by waking up early to read for half an hour in the morning, and reading again for half an hour in the evening before I went to bed. I'd spend most of Saturday and Sunday studying, maybe eight hours per day, unless I had to teach. This was my sched