DIY pre-req school- does rating matter?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SylvieK

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm going to start taking my pre-reqs from this summer at a local university.
I have a master's from a well reputable school but I've relocated to a different city for a job that I quit for this path.

Anyway, there are about 3 school options for me. They all offer similar course since they're just different campus of the university.
One campus that's about 1-1.5hr from my house (say #1) has highest rating among their campus and overall in the area.
The #2 option isn't as far as the first one but not as close as #3.

What's funny is that "the school rating," so to say, is inversely proportional to the distance to the campus from my house.
With traffic ((there's almost always traffic here)), parking, walking to the class, it can take up to 2hr for me to get to the class at #1 campus.
Another concern is that since #1 is relatively competitive school, it might be difficult to get A no matter how hard I work.

My GPA from Master's is 3.9 and 3.6 from undergrad. Would I look really bad if I take pre-reqs at #3 campus? It's not a C.C. It's just not a very decent school compared to #1.

How much does the school rating / reputation matter for N.T students who already has a degree?

Would it be worth for me to travel 2-3hr total almost everyday to go to #1 ?

Members don't see this ad.

I would take it at the closest school possible. I had a bachelors degree prior to doing a DIY post-bac. and I did most of my pre-med sciences at the university level but a couple sprinkled in at a local community college. It really doesn't matter a ton where you take your pre-reqs as long as you do well.

Reactions: 1 user
I'm going to start taking my pre-reqs from this summer at a local university.