Do dental students wear clothes under their scrubs?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Kouneko

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
This might be a stupid question but...
I am an incoming dental student who's trying to figure out what size to wear. Do I need to take an extra layer of clothes under the scurb into account?

Members don't see this ad.

I wear a white T-shirt under my scrubs. Most guys will do that or wear just scrubs with an exposed chest. Large portion of ladies wear some sort of T-shirt. I know of no one who wear pants underneath their scrubs, unless it's a really cold day, in which case people might throw on underarmor-type garments. You should ask someone at the school you are attending. For example, our sim lab has no AC, so you'd be crazy to wear much underneath. But if the school you are attending blasts AC, it might be common.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 users
Most people certainly wear appropriate undergarments when wearing scrubs to work. ... There are “"under scrubs”, which are long or short sleeved shirts made of a thin, close fitting material that can be worn for warmth under scrubs. Or plain teeshirts can be worn under scrubs for warmth.

Members don't see this ad :)
Depends on how cold it is. Generally you can just wear a close fitting t-shirt under your scrubs. If you get cold easily, you may want to look into thermals for your legs. I have used the 32 degree ones and they work well. They are also super cheap at costco.

White shirt under well fitting scrubs.
If there's no dress code outside clinic, its sweats and Star Wars tshirts.

Reactions: 1 user
Take into consideration the school's dress code and the climate. Opt for thinner scrubs with more natural fiber content for hotter climate or hot summers and roomier ones for the winter time