Do Doctors have to be Good in Math????

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sadeeq_19

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was just wondering if Doctors need to be good mathematicians? I'm a premedical student and not really good at math. Your advice is appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Know how to add, subtract, multiply, and divide and you'll be fine.

Reactions: 2 users
You should be comfortable with basic calculations. However, most pre-med requisites include math up to and including pre-calc and if you want to get a BS in the sciences, you are likely to need at least calc 1 and quite possibly calc 2. Being good at math will also come in handy in your physics classes.

Please don't be afraid of math! I hated math in high school and did terribly, but I got into a great honors math program when I was in college and now I'm a math tutor and a undergrad assistant for the same program. Don't let it intimidate you. If you have problems with it, start over from scratch and make sure you get good teachers. See if your school has a math program called ESP. This is a national program that runs at some universities that helps students get up to, and through calculus. You do a lot of group work and it's very effective. You can also find math tutors through your university.