Do you have to be a “people person” to be a good doctor?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

corgo

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Someone told me that medicine is a field where you’ll meet the worst type of people during the worst days of their lives. I’ve recently encountered several patients at the clinic I work at (I work as a medical assistant) who fit this statement and it has me wondering if this will be what my future looks like.. some of these patients are just downright rude. The PAs and docs at the clinic sometimes complain/get annoyed at patients AND to top that off, they are having to deal with insurances and loads of admin work. I asked one of our surgeons if he was a “people person” and he said, no. He hates the small talk and all the paperwork, but in an OR, he shines. He can’t imagine doing anything else but fix people up and see them be able to walk again/recover. A co-worker of mine who aspires to be a PA says that she dislikes people but she’s great with people. Additionally, I’ve heard other healthcare professionals talk about how they chose pediatrics so that they didn’t have to deal with geriatrics. Is this wrong to favor a group to treat over the other? Do you have want to really care about/like people to stay in the medical field?

Members don't see this ad.