bkennedy

2+ Year Member
Aug 13, 2015
Hi,

So I have only been a NP since May and already wanting to attend med school. I have been a nurse for 6 years and I am almost 30.

My graduate GPA is 3.8, but I know only undergrad counts. My last two years of undergrad is a 3.5. With the too much fun I had my first two years of school my cumGPA is only 3.08. I know I can bring it up and work on my science GPA. I am hoping for a 3.3-3.4 sGPA. With all the credits I have, it will be hard to get cumGPA to about 3.2.

Do you guys think I stand a chance? I will retake all prerequisites, plus some upper level sciences..Hopefully get A's in everything.

mybubbles627

ASA Member
7+ Year Member
May 10, 2011
West Coast
Status
Medical Student
Without an MCAT it is too hard to know your chances. DO does grade replacement so that may be a better bet with the low cum GPA.

Reactions: bkennedy
About the Ads

Goro

Gold Donor
7+ Year Member
Jun 10, 2010
Somewhere west of St. Louis
Status
Non-Student

ROSC

2+ Year Member
Mar 7, 2015
South of the Mason Dixon
Status
Pre-Medical
So by the time you take your prereqs you will have been an NP for how long ? and with the previous 6 years of nursing..... yea do well on those remaining prereqs along with the MCAT and you will have a very strong packet. IMO
Where are you located ?
Do you plan on staying IS or applying OOS as well?
Does your state favor IS?
Take a look at Goro's posts and Stickies some INVALUABLE information on there!!!
Also keep digging through the forums you'll find MANY scenarios such as yours with favorable outcomes.

bkennedy

2+ Year Member
Aug 13, 2015
Thank you so much for the post. I am from upstate south Carolina. I prefer in state, but I will apply to surrounding states like North Carolina and Georgia.

When I apply I will have 3-4 years experience as a NP.

I have been so obsessed trying to calculate my GPA if I get all A's. I will definitely need to have a solid MCAT.

Eccesignum

I Narcanned Your Honor Student