Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Do I have a chance? Current NP

Discussion in 'Nontraditional Students' started by bkennedy, Aug 16, 2015.

1. bkennedy

2+ Year Member

Hi,

So I have only been a NP since May and already wanting to attend med school. I have been a nurse for 6 years and I am almost 30.

My graduate GPA is 3.8, but I know only undergrad counts. My last two years of undergrad is a 3.5. With the too much fun I had my first two years of school my cumGPA is only 3.08. I know I can bring it up and work on my science GPA. I am hoping for a 3.3-3.4 sGPA. With all the credits I have, it will be hard to get cumGPA to about 3.2.

Do you guys think I stand a chance? I will retake all prerequisites, plus some upper level sciences..Hopefully get A's in everything.

2. mybubbles627

mybubbles627 ASA Member
    7+ Year Member

Medical Student
    Without an MCAT it is too hard to know your chances. DO does grade replacement so that may be a better bet with the low cum GPA.

bkennedy likes this.
  3. bkennedy

2+ Year Member

I am hoping to rock the MCAT. I am hoping all my clinical experience will help too.

4. Goro

Faculty 7+ Year Member

Non-Student
    Clinical experiences DO help.

bkennedy likes this.
  5. ROSC

2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    So by the time you take your prereqs you will have been an NP for how long ? and with the previous 6 years of nursing..... yea do well on those remaining prereqs along with the MCAT and you will have a very strong packet. IMO
    Where are you located ?
    Do you plan on staying IS or applying OOS as well?
    Does your state favor IS?
    Take a look at Goro's posts and Stickies some INVALUABLE information on there!!!
    Also keep digging through the forums you'll find MANY scenarios such as yours with favorable outcomes.

bkennedy likes this.