redwings54

10+ Year Member
Feb 15, 2005
Status
Medical Student
Hello. I was wondering if I had a chance at going DO or MD. I really like the DO philosophy, but am not sure if I fully understand the true differences between osteo and allopathic medicine. As for me, I graduated my undergrad with a 3.1 gpa and a 2.79 science. I got a 25 on the MCATS and took them twice already. Recently, I just returned from a fellowship studying holistic medicine. It was supossed to be a year but I had to cut it short for personal reasons. I have two summers of chem research and a publication, but no clinical experiences yet. I am now hoping to either work in a hospital or as a toxicologist for the state police. I did a lot of volunteer work with children including heading a project for two years. I also plan on taking classes in the summer and fall to help with my science GPA. Recently, I was also diagnosed with a small case of a bi-polar-esque disorder. I am getting better, but looking back on my time in college, I can honestly say that much of the difficulties I went through academically were partly due to my disorder. I want to be a doctor more than anything. I really want to help children. Do I stand a chance in hell of getting in? What should I do? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks and good luck to you all.

C

Chronotropic

You're GPA is a bit low but the MCAT is around average for some schools. I think with your experiences you would have a good shot.

futuredo32

15+ Year Member
Apr 8, 2003
Michigan
Status
Attending Physician