Do I Have A Chance?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sk8hendrix19

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was a terrible student in high, simply because I did not care. However, once I graduated I straightened my life out. Unfortunately, I left high school with a GPA of 2.1 and could not get into any universities. I am now attending a respected community college (Ivy Tech in Indiana) and am working towards an AA. Once I receive this, I will then transfer to Indiana University and get a bachelors of...something. I currently have a GPA of 3.8 at Ivy Tech, and will hopefully carry this all the way through my undergraduate studies. I am dedicated to school now. However, will the fact that I had to start off at a community college hurt my chances of Medical School, even if I do great at IU? Please only answer if you personally have gone through this, or know someone who has.

Members don't see this ad.

been there, I got my BSN at a medical college but took all my pre reqs at a CC. they didn't even consider my nursing grades, just undergrad. so don't worry, just get your BS with a good gpa and do the best you can on the mcat. that's it, don't sweat the high school stuff.

Been there, done that.. Terrible student in high school because I didn't care. When I finally pulled my head out I got pretty much straight A's at a community college. Never took the SAT/ACT because the community college didn't need them. Got a nice academic scholarship at a good private college, they didn't care that I didn't take SAT/ACT because I had good grades at the community college. I graduate med school in 4 months, sitting in the upper 1/4 of my class or so... You can absolutely do it :)

Members don't see this ad :)