Do I need the PhD/pay differences/help me?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

fallaur

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I am in my 4th year of a clinical psych phd and will be going off to internship in the summer of 2016. I have a little under 2 years left and I am feeling disheartened by how little I am enjoying my time in the program. I have a neuropsych concentration and the plan is to do a neuro post doc and be a neuropsycholgoist. I am on a very good track to doing this (# of pubs, GPA, hours, etc).

Problem is... I am not sure my heart is in it. I don't want to go through years of training to end up doing something I do not absolutely love. Currently I enjoy teaching and doing neuro evals (I work with college students doing ADHD/LD evals and I also do dementia evals). However, I do not enjoy research and will never step foot in a career for academia. While I do enjoy the other things, I am not sure how happy I am. I currently have my masters and am contemplating leaving before finishing the whole thing out.

I am willing to hear out any advice about/experience with leaving a program early. If you left a phd program with your masters, what did you do? Do you think you made the right choice?
BUT, my main question.... what can I do with a masters in clinical psych? I can be a psychometrist and teach community college, right? What's the pay difference (i.e., what can I expect doing both of these jobs at a masters level)? Thank you in advance for your help, SDNers!

Members don't see this ad.

Check out the pay for master's jobs, then look at GS-13 pay at some VA's, that might give you a rough estimate of the pay difference. Psychometrists are GS-9 I believe. And, community college used to be a great deal for teaching, about 20 years ago, newer faculty are getting shafted at many places though as states pull more funding.