DO or MD ortho for woman?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

terpdo2012

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a DO student, female, considering orthopedics.
I know MD ortho programs tend to be more female-friendly, but DOs are much less likely to match, whereas DO ortho programs are known to be less female-friendly, but obviously not biased against DOs.
Any advice where I might be more competitive, thoughts, anecdotes to share?
3.99 GPA, all H on 3rd year rotations except HP on Surgery, no research, 236 USMLE Step 1, 630 COMLEX.

Members don't see this ad.

Your stats are great, you defiantly have a good chance at a DO program. The best thing to do is find out which programs have historically taken female residents. I can only comment on programs that I have seen or have had friends rotate / interview at. NYCOM and PCOM are two east coast programs that have taken a lot of females in the past. I get the sense from some rotators that Harrisburg is not "female friendly." UMDNJ has some as well and there is speculation that they may have a new female program director in the near future. I don't know much about the midwest programs.

MD lists are easier to find online, but some DO programs have their residents posted online. You can also e-mail program coordinators for their rosters. If they have 0-1 female residents, don't waste your time unless you REALLY love the program and get a good vibe. Good luck.

I'm a DO student, female, considering orthopedics.
I know MD ortho programs tend to be more female-friendly, but DOs are much less likely to match, whereas DO ortho programs are known to be less female-friendly, but obviously not biased against DOs.
Any advice where I might be more competitive, thoughts, anecdotes to share?
3.99 GPA, all H on 3rd year rotations except HP on Surgery, no research, 236 USMLE Step 1, 630 COMLEX.