DO residency or take my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

spectrin

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Not to flame here but what would be the better option? Not interested in academics or teaching. Just want to secure a good job in Chicago.

Members don't see this ad.

I don't think you have anything to lose by going to a DO residency. Prestige of a residency's "name" is mostly an issue if you do want an academic career.

just finished residency in chicago... and i am an MD grad fwiw - i would do any of the allo programs if possible. you didn't clarify if you want to train in chicago but let's say you do. it's tough to get a good job in the area, and the DO program is very average at best. while you are judged to some degree as an individual, where you trained will weigh in quite a bit when getting a job - especially if you are looking for a job where you trained! from what i saw, you do have quite an advantage when getting a job in the area where you trained (i went elsewhere - chicago wasn't for me). from what i hear ccom is better than average for a DO program, but in my experience the residents were all over the map in terms of abilities and some were downright awful.

Members don't see this ad :)
Im applying osteo, So I think you should take your chances :D .....let me know how it goes.

Unless you are wanting to work at one of the Ivory tower hospitals when you are done, your employers won't care. I went the DO route, and got an offer at every job that I applied to. Een the ones in the "high demamd" cities. In the end, an amployer will want to know if you can see patients, move them as fast as safely possible, and not be a tool. Outside of that no one cares where you went for residency. (Unless you are doing research or want to work at a Harvard, then you better to the allopathic route).