DO vs MD match

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

eveve

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Long time lurker. First time poster. I'm a DO student from an old school in the midwest and am applying EM this year. Applied to AOA and ACGME programs. Currently deciding whether or not to go through with the AOA match since rank lists are due next week.

I'm an average student. USMLE 1 in the 210's, USMLE 2 in the 250's, passed the PE first attempt. No red flags except the low step 1. One good SLOE.

I have 7 MD ranks, and 10 DO. If I were to rank all my programs on one list, all the MD programs would be at the top, followed by the DO programs. I'm hesitant to drop the DO match because of numbers (only 7) but I would hate to miss out on a chance to go to my dream program (mid tier MD) because of the AOA match. Thanks all.

Members don't see this ad.

I had 7 in the acgme match in 2014 as a DO and matched. I personally know a few who matched with less.

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm a DO in a similar predicament (with 7 ACGME interviews too), but right now I'm leaning towards going through with the AOA match as for me even a 10% chance of not matching is way too much of a risk... :(

Reactions: 1 users
Long time lurker. First time poster. I'm a DO student from an old school in the midwest and am applying EM this year. Applied to AOA and ACGME programs. Currently deciding whether or not to go through with the AOA match since rank lists are due next week.

I'm an average student. USMLE 1 in the 210's, USMLE 2 in the 250's, passed the PE first attempt. No red flags except the low step 1. One good SLOE.