DO with no interest in research

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

zNoodlez

Handmade Noodle
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am an incoming DO student c/o 2024. I have little to no interest in doing much research during my upcoming years in medical school, so my question is, what field can I realistically be competitive/have a chance for without any research/publications? I am currently interested in IM and Neurology but things might change later down the line. Any insights will be greatly appreciated :).

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
IM and neurology should be doable without research, but you're mostly gonna be stuck with community programs and NOT University/academic or even some communiversity ones. Keep in mind that some community programs are still competitive depending on the location and/or presence of in-house fellowships, so research may or may not be a factor for them too. If you're looking to subspecialize in IM, I'd advise to do at least some research. If not, then you should be fine.

Other fields where research is not a big requirement: FM, Peds, EM, Anesthesiology, PM&R, Path, and maybe also Psych and DR.

Last edited:
Reactions: 4 users
Have you tried clinical research? It’s very different from bench research, and might be more appealing to you.

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Have you tried clinical research? It’s very different from bench research, and might be more appealing to you.

I agree, see if you can find some clinical research with that you can get into.

The issue is while you don't NEED research per se, it certainly helps. Especially if it's almost expected to see some research on your CV in an ever growing competitive field with lessening emphasis on scores you need something to help you stand out, let alone not having something everyone else has on their CV as well.