Docs on Ambulances

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dukes

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was just wondering if anyone out there knows anything about whether physicians can operate as medics on ambulances. I'm asking because I used to be a paramedic and am now in med school. I would definitely like to volunteer in the future somewhere on an ambulance. I don't know about the laws etc.. also, does the national registry or some state medical boards accept medical school as a recert class? My registry expired and was hoping that I wouldn't have to take a recert course in the future. Does anyone know what's up with this? Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

NREMT wouldn't even count my medical school for CME for recert, so I doubt you can use it for an expired license.

I'm sure laws vary by state as to whether you can work on an ambulance or not. However, one would think you can if you are a fully licensed physician. Mind you that paramedics are not licensed to practice medicine independently -- they must operate under a medical director. If a paramedic can operate under your license, I do not see why you cannot provide care yourself. The concerns of knowing how to immobilize patients, extricate, etc. will be moot points since you were a prior paramedic (most of that stuff has not changed).

There are several physicians and residents with my program who are EMS gurus. Some volunteer for local fire/rescue departments.

southerndoc said:
NREMT wouldn't even count my medical school for CME for recert, so I doubt you can use it for an expired license.