Doctor going back to medical school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

avicenna1515

Reaction score
Hi all, I've been lurking on this site for a little while now and debating whether to post this, but here goes. I'm a "doctor". Should I go to medical school a second time? To make a very long story short: I am originally from what our former president would have called a $***hole country, I graduated with my medical degree at 23 years, this was now almost 15 years ago. However, I did not complete my country's equivalent of medical residency because my family fled for political and safety reasons shortly after I graduated. Since then, I have worked a variety of jobs, though now I am in consulting with a well-known firm (I apologize, I am being vague as I haven't told anyone at work I am considering this yet).

To be totally honest, I hate my job. I do not feel like I am adding value to society and I have a lot of problems with what my firm does. I am only here because for a long time my only goal was to make money and support my family, but I have enough money now to comfortably not work for the rest of my life. I will admit I have played the "doctor" card half-jokingly on more than one occasion (mostly as a "fun fact" as I don't feel I have earned the right to use the title day-to-day), I'm sure it has helped me get my foot in some doors. But also, I think I identify with it because that was always my dream as a kid, before circumstances chose differently for me. I have been thinking a lot recently about whether there is any way for me to get back.