1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice

doctor's hours?

Discussion in 'Medical Students - MD' started by TIGER0780, Apr 28, 2000.

1. TIGER0780

TIGER0780 New Member

I'm a undergraduate who just recently decided to switch to pre-med. I want to pursue medicine, but I've heard so much about the long hours that doctors work that it's beginning to scare me. I really want to be a physician, but I also want to have a family and be there for my children. I was hoping that maybe someone could give me an idea of what a doctor's life is really like and what areas of medicine would be best.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. surgery

surgery Member
    10+ Year Member

Scared tiger,

The best field of medicine for easy life is no medicine.

I know you are too young to imagine, there are tremendous amount of responsibility and liablity in medicine. If you want an easy life and be rich, look elsewhere!!

Or, if you are still confused, Las Vegas could be a good place to start.

4. dthankins

dthankins Member
    10+ Year Member

Tiger,

Hours vary among specialties. I have heard all sorts of stats on hours so it is hard to know for sure.

On place that gives a lot of info on various specialties is www.medschool.com

Some specialties such as Dermatology have pretty normal hours. The bad part is that dermatology is only available to the brightest -- everyone wants those good hours so this is a very competitive residency to get.