Does anyone know how the UW subdivisions work

Discussion in 'Step I' started by Mr. Freeze, Jun 15, 2008.

  1. Mr. Freeze

    Mr. Freeze Not right. (in the head)

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    2
    Status:
    Resident [Any Field]
    This seems simple enough, but does anyone know if say, you want to go back and do only the endocrine q's and you click endo as a subdivision if that does in fact limit the pool of q's to that?

    I guess that's kind of confusing. I want to go back and review mistakes, but by system and not sure if UW is configured to do it that way. I always just did random with everything selected.
     
  2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

  3. TerpMD

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    1
    Status:
    Resident [Any Field]
    You are right. Just click to do all main divisions and then whatever subdivision you want. Every once in a while you will find one in the wrong category :)
     
  4. It'sElectric

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,502
    Likes Received:
    6
    Status:
    Attending Physician
    Maybe I'm misunderstanding the OP, but you should be able to select the questions you actually got wrong by subdivision (i.e. Endocrine) as well. Just click on 'incorrect' for question mode.
     
  5. lilnoelle

    Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,892
    Likes Received:
    6
    Status:
    Resident [Any Field]
    Yeah.... it happens quite a lot actually. I spent my first few weeks going through UW via symptoms (going over whatever I was studying) and am just now going through it random - I honestly don't notice MUCH of a difference.
     
  6. Mr. Freeze

    Mr. Freeze Not right. (in the head)

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    2
    Status:
    Resident [Any Field]
    If you try to pick only a subdivision, it says pick a main, so I just wasn't sure if you pick one sub, but all mains, if it would in fact limit it to the system. It does apparently, but a q in which "thyroid" is present even though the q might be biostats or something like that still falls under endo. Somehow.

    thx
     
  7. It'sElectric

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,502
    Likes Received:
    6
    Status:
    Attending Physician
    I gotcha. My bad. Some might not even be correctly labeled (although, I'm sure most are). I took the World Self-Assessment just the other day, and it definitely had a question that had absolutely NOTHING to do with biostats listed as a biostats question.
     

Share This Page