Does it make sense doing an MD after Pharamcy?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lmay0001

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Im a pharmacy graduate with an MPharm (not PharmD) but i had the option to choose the 3year PharmD vs 5 year MD. In my country MD is Free if you have a undergrad and you are a EU student. so i opted for MD as i already am a practicing Pharmacist with a MPharm.

Problem is although im getting on well in the MD course i am feeling that i am more cut to do research then practice. I think i would fit in a Pharma Company doing drug development, however only now that i am in my second year M2 i have realized this.

Plus im getting old im 28 soon. cant waste much time.

Members don't see this ad.

Im a pharmacy graduate with an MPharm (not PharmD) but i had the option to choose the 3year PharmD vs 5 year MD. In my country MD is Free if you have a undergrad and you are a EU student. so i opted for MD as i already am a practicing Pharmacist with a MPharm.

Problem is although im getting on well in the MD course i am feeling that i am more cut to do research then practice. I think i would fit in a Pharma Company doing drug development, however only now that i am in my second year M2 i have realized this.

Plus im getting old im 28 soon. cant waste much time.
Drug companies don't hire PharmD's to do research. They hire PhD's and MD's.

Reactions: 3 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Drug companies don't hire PharmD's to do research. They hire PhD's and MD's.

"Drug companies" hire PharmD to study design clinical studies, analyze PK/PD data, research pharmacoeconomic models, but most I know (that work for pharma) are MSLs.

If you know you want to do research, getting an MD is a good way. If you really don't want to finish the MD, then I would look into a PhD program. There is little reason to get a PharmD, if you know you want to go into research.

Reactions: 2 users