SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Does this qualify as "applying broadly"??

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by AnesthesiaMD, May 12, 2007.

1. AnesthesiaMD

AnesthesiaMD 2+ Year Member

Jan 4, 2007
    I'm assuming this means to apply to a lot of schools with "magic number" stats approximating my own. Anyway, can any people with experience tell me how this set of schools looks to them? I'm a Michigan resident with a 68.0 "magic #" (MCAT not taken, i've been pulling 34s on my latest practice exams), GPA = 3.50 (after senior year which is when I'm applying) with a projected MCAT of 33.

1. Wayne State
    2. University of Michigan (a stretch, I know)
    3. Michigan State University (MD)
    4. Rosalind Franklin
    5. The George Washington University
    6. Georgetown
    7. Loyola
    8. Tulane
    9. Hopkins (dream school)
    10. Boston University
    11. St. Louis University
    12. Albany Medical College
    13. New York Medical College
    14. University of Cincinnati
    15. Drexel
    16. Jefferson
    17. Temple
    18. All branches of the University of Texas (no secondary fees)
    19. University of Vermont
    20. Eastern Virginia Medical School
    21. Virginia Commonwealth U.
    22. University of Washington
    23. Medical College of Wisconsin
    24. Medical University of Ohio

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. spospo

spospo Going to extremes 7+ Year Member

Jun 13, 2006
    The 'kane
    yeah, that is pretty broad. i personally would take u of wash off the list. they really really really favor instate/WWAMI people. very few oos get interviews, and normally those that do come from disadvantaged backgrounds. that is just my two cents though. best of luck

4. uhohspaghettio

uhohspaghettio Banned Banned

May 11, 2007
    68 is the "magic" number for MI? I've heard that Cali is like at least 70 :mad:

5. Gut Shot

Gut Shot 10+ Year Member

Sep 7, 2003