Does transferring actually look bad?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pira

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Alright, so I've been told to not even THINK about transferring again, because it will look horrible and I'll never get into vet school. I find this hard to believe, since it would look like I'm trying to push myself and be the best I can be. Any input?

I started at a teeny satellite campus to a major state school, and got right out of there after my first year. It was a spur of the moment decision (in August, mind you), so pickings were slim for a new school. I ended up at Kutztown, which is a decent sized school, but it's very art-centric with every other program as an afterthought. I feel like my degree is somewhat of a joke. It's practically in the middle of a cornfield, 3.5 hours from home, with the only decent-sized cities 30 minutes in either direction. There's a "Pre-Vet Club" with about 5 people in it. I'm miserable there, and want to go anywhere else.

What looks better: sticking it out with a good GPA at a school like that, or transfer a second time to a school where all things science and medical are actually encouraged and opportunities abound?

Members don't see this ad.

I had four different schools on my application and it was not an issue getting into vet school.

Members don't see this ad :)
I think as long as you have good reasons for transferring (and I think wanting to be at a school with a better science program is a good reason), it's fine. I think it would be a red flag to vet schools only if it seemed like you were being flaky and unable to stick with a school. After all, once you're in vet school it's much more difficult to transfer, as not all vet schools even accept transfer students.