Does undergrad school really matter?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

akinf

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am new to this forum and I have a few questions about medical school relating to selection of undergraduate schools. I am in my final semester of high school right now and I am in the process of deciding where to do my undergrad. I live in Canada and have been accepted to some of the top schools (Queen's and some others). Let me get to my question. Do medical schools actually care where you take your undergrad? I am really concerned about this because I can decide to stay in Manitoba, get high marks at what I consider to be a "lesser" school, or go to Queen's, struggle more, but have a valued degree (most likely biochemistry or microbiology). I have heard two conflicting views. A med. school will regard a certain school better. All you need is a high GPA, high MCAT, and extracurriculars. I have also heard that it is better to attend undergrad at the school you want to enter medicine in. Now, I am still young and still doing research of medical schools, but my top choices from what I have read and heard through the grape vince are McGill, Queen's, Toronto, John Hopkins, and almost any Ivy League school. I'd like to study medicine in the U.S one day, and since it could be harder, I am looking for a little advice. Any and all advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Medical schools just want good numbers.

A 3.8gpa/28MCAT from a school X, where the SAT ave is 1000 is looked on with more favor than a 3.2gpa/32 MCAT from school Y, where the SAT ave is a 1400.

It's a stupid system, but now you know.