Does VA internship = former federal employee?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

psychphd4me

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
There are several VA jobs I would like to pursue and most are only open to current or former federal employees.

If I completed a VA internship, but have since separated, am I considered a former federal employee? I am getting mixed information from reading, and I do not anticipate getting a straightforward answer by calling HR.

Members don't see this ad.

Interesting question; I have no familiarity with the VA, but it seems like this should qualify you? I’ll be interested to hear what others have to say.

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm a current Intern at a VA and HR told me yes, I am considered a federal employee and to utilize that when applying for VA positions. Reach out to the HR for the VA you trained at, there is a form that they provide you that you upload to your application that verifies your employment. I think its the Sf50, not sure tho. HR will know for sure.

Reactions: 1 user
Do you mean a practicum/externship where it's part of your grad school experience or a paid internship after completing grad school? I was the latter case, and I was considered a federal employee. In fact, when I obtained VA employment after fellowship, my unused sick leave transferred over and my time in service calculation for retirement, etc. includes my internship year.

I completed my postdoc at a VA and was told by HR no. That term is for permanent employees..... bummer, I know.

My understanding is that current interns are eligible (falls under current federal employee), but interns or post docs who separated are not. However, I read one statement (that I cannot find right now) that implied maybe we were considered former/eligible. I also had a former VA employee tell me I was eligible to apply to current/former employee jobs, but I don't believe they said that from experience.