Doing Biotech post PharmD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

zyas248

Reaction score
Hi! I've been reading a lot about people saying that pharma is super saturated when it comes to retail pharmacy and how hard it is to get hospital residency but I'm not interested in any of these stuff. I am more interested in industry pharmacy where I can work in drug design or pharmacy politics (idk what it's formally called but like drug policies and government work). I've been reading that its really helpful having a PharmD and a masters in biotech but the issue is that I am currently a second year undergrad who has managed to be accepted in the PharmD program, meaning I would have to drop my bachelors and I would end up with only a PharmD degree at the end of the four years. I feel really anxious because I have wanted to do drug research and design my entire life but it seems like I may not have good enough credentials to beat out the competition. If I finish my PharmD program and I want to work in a drug company then I would have to go back and get a bachelors before I can get a Masters in biotech. I was just wondering if anybody has any advice for if you were in my position? I do def want to pursue the PharmD degree but I just want to know if you did a few years in PharmD and realized it's not for you what would you do? And if you did complete the PharmD and you were in my position (no bachelors or masters) what would you do?

I am a very social person so I def think I can network well. I am also young which I read that there is ageism in the industry so I think if I graduate at 23 with a PharmD it would look quite appealing to companies. But still, everything else kept in mind with my credentials, should I be worried? It seems like this has been my dream but everyone is telling me to not even bother with the industry.

Members don't see this ad.