DO's and away rotations

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

vegasdo

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 3rd year DO student planning on going into pathology. After reading all of the previous posts about DO's and pathology I am optimistic about my chances to match. I have a competitive step 1 COMLEX score and my USMLE step 1 score is around the average. I plan on taking USMLE step 2 early as well.

Do you guys think that away rotations for DO students are a must? I am disappointed because I will not be able to do any during my 4th year because I do not want to leave my wife and son for a month. Also, there are no programs here in Vegas. I am resorting to setting up rotations with some local pathologists in the community.

Do you think this will seriously hurt my chances? Can a DO get an interview without doing the audition rotation?

Members don't see this ad.

What's worse, a month away from your family or not matching into a program you want to go to?

I don't like uncertainty, myself, and was not interested in scrambling; therefore, I invested the time at the place I wanted to go to ensure that I'd match there.

On the other hand, if you're a tool or a jerk, it might be better to forego the rotation. We have not matched students based on what they showed us during their rotation. If you go, give it 110%. Be interested, be helpful, show up first and leave last, go out with the residents. Then they will remember you (in a positive way!).

If you want to match to a particular program, then an elective there would certainly help. However, if you can go anywhere for residency, there is no need to worry - you will match. There are way too many spots in Path. The topnotch programs may be very difficuly to get into but matching in Path in general is not an issue, particularly for AMGs (allopathic and osteopathic alike).

Members don't see this ad :)