vasoolraja

7+ Year Member
Mar 15, 2010
Status
Non-Student
Hi friends,

I have a couple of questions and would appreciate your replies. I am planning to apply for pharmacy schools in 2013, so how much experience do I need to get in this field. I mean every weekend if I get little bit of experience in retail setting or volunteer clinics, would that be enough? I can spare only weekends because I am on a full time job. Is there a minimum requirement as far as hours of experience are concerned? If I have just 10 to 12 hours of experience would that be sufficient?

I am more interested in research and teaching in pharmacy. I have a master's degree in fisheries and I plan to switch fields. I am assuming in the interview (if I get an opportunity :D)there is a chance that the professors may ask me why I did not consider going for a direct PhD in pharmacology. So how do I answer such a question. I am actually interested in getting a PharmD degree first and then doing a PhD instead of a direct PhD in pharmacology.

I would really appreciate your comments and suggestions!

ShadowRX

The Legend KilleRx
Jan 29, 2010
Status
Pharmacy Student
Hi friends,

I have a couple of questions and would appreciate your replies. I am planning to apply for pharmacy schools in 2013, so how much experience do I need to get in this field. I mean every weekend if I get little bit of experience in retail setting or volunteer clinics, would that be enough? I can spare only weekends because I am on a full time job. Is there a minimum requirement as far as hours of experience are concerned? If I have just 10 to 12 hours of experience would that be sufficient?