DPM or nursing?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DrShoegal

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been accepted to both DPM and an accelerated BSN program. I graduated with a BA in 2010. If I go the BSN route, I am interested in pursuing CRNA or NP but I have heard it is very difficult to get accepted into those programs. I am leaning towards DPM, but I am worried about the future of the profession.. decreasing reimbursement rates, and I would love to open my own practice but a few doctors that I've shadowed said it is getting more and more difficult to keep up with the expenses and more are going towards group practice, hospital settings. I am also worried about malpractice and the possibility of getting sued whereas in nursing you are basically covered. I know they are 2 completely different fields and I don't know if I could see myself being a nurse but I would love to become a NP but if I couldn't get accepted to a program I think I would regret not going to pod school. I am in my mid twenties and sometimes I dread the fact that I will be in school for 4 years plus 3 years of residency compared to the BSN program that is only 11 months..I really don't know what career to choose..Like I said I am leaning towards podiatry but nursing would be nice since it would only take me a year but I am worried I will regret not becoming a doctor. Also, the podiatrist I am shadowing really doesn't know if she would go through with podiatry again if she had the chance so that also worries me..Any suggestions are great! I am down to 1 week to decide! Thanks in advance

Members don't see this ad.

How many shadowing hours have you put in with each field? I would shadow like crazy right now to see what you like better and choose that way. I wouldn't sweat the DPM who isn't sure she would do it again, you will get that in any field as there is always a 'grass is greener' scenario.