Drexel MLAS or VTech BMVS?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cubscout412

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

Been lurking on here for a while, but this is my first time posting! So I found out last week that I was accepted to Drexel's masters of laboratory animal science program. I'm super psyched, because my end goal is vet school and I really need a masters program to boost my gpa (which is pretty low). I hope to apply to vet school next year (after having a year of masters program grades to show), and hopefully start in 2016.

That being said, I am currently a VA resident, but I fear I might lose this precious residency by doing a program in PA for 2 years, and I know how much preference VMRCVM puts on IS applicants. I was just researching VTech's programs, and they have a biomedical and veterinary science masters program (BMVS). I don't know much about this program, and didnt even know it existed, but I was wondering if anyone has done this program and used it as a GPA booster and gotten into vet school? Can anyone speak to which program might be better? I like the idea of going to school in phily, as I've been in VA for 3 years, and moving to philly would allow me to be closer to my family and friends, but again, am worried about losing VA residency.

Any insight/info/help would be appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.