Duke Pros/Cons

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DPT2019newb

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just reaching out to see if there were any current/past Duke DPT students who'd be willing to share their experiences there and any pros/cons of the program. I was just accepted and will be visiting this week, but wanted some more information about what others thought. Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Just reaching out to see if there were any current/past Duke DPT students who'd be willing to share their experiences there and any pros/cons of the program. I was just accepted and will be visiting this week, but wanted some more information about what others thought. Thanks in advance!

Pro: You can get the same license as everyone else. Con: You will go into soul-crushing debt.

I'm an incoming student so I'll give some of the reasons I applied and accepted their decision. I was early decision so I'm officially attending Fall 2016.

I completely disagree with the poster above. 1. If physical therapy education was strictly just about passing the boards, they should just give online degrees and send inexperienced idiots into the clinics. 2. Duke is not as expensive as people think, at least not for their DPT program. It's about average and it cost the same as it would've been for me to go instate.

The pros to me are that they place you into the clinic your very first year. It starts out small and they build on it through their "STEP" program. The faculty there are world class therapists and the entire program is embrasive. The director just came back from helping napal and WHO. They promote research and some students even go to national conferences to present. They base grades on a pass/fail system and promote peer building and cooperation among class mates. Not to mention that Duke has 100s of connections with nationally recognized clinics that are top class.