PhD/PsyD Early Career Neuropsychologist Looking for Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

InYourHead

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Looking for some guidance from some of the more veterans folks here:

I have been working at a large hospital system for < 5 years. I do a mixture of inpatient and outpatient work, with an emphasis on brief evals with a very specialized population. The salary is average, but the issue is there seems to be little room for advancement. Furthermore, this whole COVID situation has really left a bad taste in my mouth, as I haven't agreed with how the admins have handled it (though I do recognize that very difficult decisions have had to be made, and I do not envy them for it).

As a result of this, I've been thinking more about my long term professional and financial goals and thinking about what the options would be. (I'm not sure if I should give it more than 5 years though to see if things change?) I have never been interested in private practice, but wondering if that may actually be my best bet. The problem is I feel I've pigeon-holed myself by my limited clinical interests a bit, and feel extremely out of my comfort level at the thought of moving more into a generalist position. I suppose my questions are:

1) What other employment setting options would be worth exploring?

2) If private practice is indeed the best option, I doubt I'd be interested in setting up shop on my own (right away, or maybe even ever). I never trained in a private practice, so would probably benefit from joining a group, right? That said, with regards to COVID, I can't imagine it's been a great time to be 'fee for service' either. Any realistic insight you could provide on private practice day-to-day life, productivity expectations, salary, etc would be really helpful.