EM at UT Houston?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

enfuegoEP

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Any thoughts on the program, atmosphere? I'm considering this program for residency it seems really solid. Just looking for some inside information and not trying to ruffle any feathers :rolleyes:

Members don't see this ad.

I am a 2nd year resident at UT Houston now. I may be a little biased, but I think we have a very solid program here.

We have a great group of residents who all work together very well, and a great mix of young and more seasoned attendings.

Memorial-Hermann, our primary teaching site, is the busiest level 1 trauma center in terms of acuity in the country (ie: more of our patients are sick and go to ICU level care than anywhere else). PLENTY of trauma, but great exposure to Medicine and Peds as well.

Our program director is very laid back and very willing to change our curriculum when we have problems with off-service rotations (for example, replacing trauma surgery rotation for an SICU month heavy in procedures when the trauma service turned into a 100+ hour a week scut rotation). When changes are made, they are made by a majority vote of the residents.

One thing I will say: If you learn better by pontificating over each patient and reading throughout your shift, this is not the place for you. We are a very busy level 1 trauma and referral center. We work hard while we are on, and see a lot of patients. In the end though, out in the community, seeing patients and "moving the meat" is what puts money in your pocket, and I think we learn to do that very well.