EM/IM combined program

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DIVA01

*** Extraordinaire
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
What is the advantage of these programs? Where are they offered, and what would you do once you were done?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

i graduated from one, it's a waste of time. Other than you've gained more knowledge in IM, it's kind of useless in your practice because your job is to quickly stabilize patient, not to sit and think for hours for the treatment and diagnosis.

And may i add, because it's such a useless combination, that's why it's a dying residency.

Members don't see this ad :)
DIVA01 said:
What is the advantage of these programs? [...] and what would you do once you were done?
Check out the search facility at: http://forums.studentdoctor.net/search.php? and use queries such as "EM/IM", "combined", "residency", "dual-boarded" etc. (possibly restricted to the EM sub forum) and you should come up with matches such as:

http://forums.studentdoctor.net/showthread.php?t=64261&highlight="EM/IM"+combined
http://forums.studentdoctor.net/showthread.php?t=288421&highlight="EM/IM"+combined
http://forums.studentdoctor.net/showthread.php?t=279196&highlight="EM/IM"+combined
http://forums.studentdoctor.net/showthread.php?t=281171&highlight="EM/IM"+combined
http://forums.studentdoctor.net/showthread.php?t=266794&highlight="EM/IM"+combined
http://forums.studentdoctor.net/showthread.php?t=260943&highlight="EM/IM"+combined
http://forums.studentdoctor.net/showthread.php?t=260564&highlight="EM/IM"+combined
http://forums.studentdoctor.net/showthread.php?t=206265&highlight="EM/IM"+combined
http://forums.studentdoctor.net/showthread.php?t=212151&highlight="EM/IM"+combined
http://forums.studentdoctor.net/showthread.php?t=183799&highlight="EM/IM"+combined
http://forums.studentdoctor.net/showthread.php?t=102713&highlight="EM/IM"+combined