EM - Team doctor

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

slick177

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just wondering if there are any EM physicians out there that function as a team doctor. I am mostly interested at the local (high school/small college) level and not necessarily the professional/D1 level. In my experience it has been FPs/Peds/Sports Med who provide this coverage, but it seems that you would be adequately trained as an EM physician.

Thanks for your input.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a team doctor for a professional hockey team and several of my partners are fight docs (which is a busy gig here in Vegas). It's fun. An EP is trained to deal with whatever might happen during a game but we need back up from ortho and an actual sports med doc for the longer term management of stuff. A good example is consuccion. An EP doesn't really care about the after care. A team doc has to know when and if that player can start playing again.

Many residencies are involved in some sort of sports medicine. In my residency we had opportunities to do some event medicine--races, the Superbowl, police vs. fire (guns and hoses :) ) boxing, and other community events. Also I was a HS team doc for a HS football team and went to all of the home games through the department. This was coordinated through ortho and they would work with anyone I referred but my site was EM docs, other schools in the league were covered by ortho or FM docs from our hospital. Team medicine is definitely do-able as a resident, academic or community doc. Many more opportunities at the volunteer level but some paying ones are out there too...

Members don't see this ad :)